Federal Transportation Planning

Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) are federally mandated, and therefore work closely with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to ensure compliance with transportation planning and air quality standards, including the development of the Long Range Transportation Plan and compliance with public involvement standards. 


Joint Certification Review

Pursuant to 23 U.S.C. 134(i)(5) and 49 U.S.C. 1607, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) must jointly certify the metropolitan transportation planning process in Transportation Management Areas at least every four years (a TMA is an urbanized area, as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau, with a population of over 200,000).  CRTPO’s transportation planning process will be the subject of a certification review on December 5-6, 2011.


On July 6, 2012, the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) was signed into law.  MAP-21 is the first long-term highway authorization enacted since 2005, and will fund surface transportation programs for fiscal years 2013 and 2014.  It creates a streamlined, performance-based, and multimodal program to address the many challenges facing the U.S. transportation system.  More information about this authorization can be found by clicking the link below.

Federal Highway Administration – MAP-21

Federal Transit Administration - MAP-21

Transportation Performance Management